October Reading Wrap Up

Boy was October a prime month for me in the reading department. Unemployment mixed with the high I’m still feeling from the YA Literature Conference earlier in the month made me a machine. In between sneaking candy from the Halloween bowl and doing some serious prep/rewatch for Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life, I managed to finish 8 books: 

 

Kids of Appetite by David Arnold

This tribute to The Outsiders quickly became one of my all time favorite books. I posted a full, gushing review here.

The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner

I also posted a full review of this one here.

Replica by Lauren Oliver

This sci-fi YA was released with a crazy amount of hype that I bought right into. It follows two young girls investigating the elusive and highly guarded Haven Institute. Lyra is a clone who has spent her entire life in the fishbowl of Haven. Gemma lives a life of relative seclusion with her oftentimes oppressively protective parents, and learns that she might be more connected to Haven than she ever thought. Marketed as two novels in one, the dual perspectives are told as completely separate stories. The reader can choose to read one entire store at a time, or flip the book over at each chapter to get varying perspectives. I chose the latter, and while the stories overlapped interestingly, the process of doing so was cumbersome and a little too gimmicky. Because of the set up, it was difficult to get into much depth of the characters who at times just felt a bit disconnected. However, it was an enjoyable read overall, and explored the timely complexities of scientific advances and human life.

All American Boys by Jason Reynolds and Brendan Kiely

I wrote a review on this award winning book right here. Kiely’s newest novel, The Last True Love Story, is on my TBR for November and I absolutely cannot wait.

As I Descended by Robin Talley

This modern day YA Macbeth retelling was everything I wanted out of a Halloween read, including (but not limited to) a creaky old boarding school with faulty wiring, malevolent ghosts, Ouija boards, mysterious disappearances, and deadly secrets. This novel follows the story of Maria Lyon, a senior in high school who is battling with the popular and perfect Delilah to win a coveted scholarship that will grant her access to any ivy league in the country. With the help (and insistence) of her girlfriend, Lily, Maria will do just about anything possible to win the prize, including opening channels between this world and the next. This diverse and LGTBQ-friendly book was definitely one of my favorites of the month.

A Shadow Bright and Burning by Jessica Cluess

I’m still a relative newb when it comes to reading fantasy, and I’m actively trying to fix that – this book was a great start. Set in Victorian London, the novel follows the first female sorcerer in hundreds of years, Henrietta Howell, who is plucked from obscurity to train as one of Her Majesty’s royal sorcerers. However, Henrietta soon realizes she is not what she seems, and must keep up a dangerous charade to hide her true identity. Henrietta as a character is strong, fearless, and holds her own in a world completely controlled and dominated by men. Overall, despite a few confusing and unexplained world-building points, I really enjoyed this book, and look forward to its sequel.

The Female of the Species by  Mindy McGinnis

I’m working on a full review for this book, as I have a lot to say about it. Short version is that this book should be required reading for every adolescent – boy or girl.

How to Hang a Witch by Adrianna Mather

Twitter was buzzing when this e-book went on sale for $1.99 and I jumped on it. I had such high hopes, as the basic premise sounded really promising. Written by a descendant of Cotton Mather, How to Hang a Witch is all about Salem, witches, a centuries old curse, and the new girl in town who seems to making everything worse. Unfortunately, I was definitely not a fan. It hit at nearly every frustratingly negative trope associated with YA: vicious (and I mean vicious) girl cliques, illogical adult behavior, a fabricated love triangle, a more or less lifeless protagonist who “isn’t like other girls,” and a cookie-cutter male love interest. The bones were there, but the final product was disappointing.

Leave a comment